KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Monday, 20 December 2010.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Miss S J Carey, Mr R J Parry, Mr L B Ridings (Substitute for Mrs V J Dagger) and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

12. Minutes

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 8 October 2010 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

13. Change of meeting date in April 2011 (Item A4)

The Panel agreed to bring forward its April meeting to 2.00 pm on Wednesday, 27 April 2010.

14. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (*Item B1*)

- (1) The Panel decided not to re-appoint Dr L Keen to the Governing Body of Aylesham Primary School as she had on no occasion been able to attend a meeting in full.
- (2) The Governor Support Officer reported that Mr B Banks had agreed to become an Associate Governor at St Eanswythe CEP School and that Mr R Theobald was now the only candidate for the position of Authority Governor at that School.
- (3) The Governor Support Officer reported that Mr S Laurence had withdrawn his nomination and that Mr C Cummings was now the only candidate for the position of Authority Governor at St Nicholas CEP School in Thanet.
- (4) The Panel agreed to appoint Mr G Cooke, Mrs C Hardy, Mr P Ananicz and Mr W Henry as Authority Governors to the new South Maidstone Learning Federation.
- (5) The Panel noted the following appointments to Authority Governorships made under delegated powers in consultation with the Chairman:-
 - (a) Mr B Colley to Downsview Primary School; and
 - (b) Mrs S Dinsdale to Dymchurch Primary School.

(6) RESOLVED that the appointment of Authority Governors in primary, Secondary, Special Schools and Pupil Referral Units be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.